CCR Banner CCR Home

2011 Bryson Scholarship Event

For the 2011 competition, 20 applicants presented their ongoing or recently completed research at the Reid Bryson Poster Session, as part of the annual Nelson Institute Earth Day Conference on April 20, 2011. The applicants were from a wide range of departments and centers across the University of Wisconsin-Madison, including the Center for Climatic Research (CCR), the Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment (SAGE), the Space Science and Engineering Center (SSEC), the Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, the Nelson Institute Environment and Resources program, the Department of Ecology, the Department of Geology, and the Department of Engineering. This rich diversity in research fields captures the interdisciplinary nature of Professor Reid Bryson’s studies.

Judges (Jessica Blois, Michael Notaro, and Bjorn Brooks) examine the posters

Posters were judged based on the following criteria: Artistic presentation, originality of the scientific question, clarity, soundness of methodology, importance of the research, and topical relevance. The judges in the 2011 competition were Drs. Michael Notaro, Jessica Blois, and Bjorn Brooks.

The winner of the 2011 Reid Bryson Scholarship of $1500 was Rachel Licker from SAGE. Rachel is a PhD student under advisor Professor Chris Kucharik. The title of her poster was “Integrating climatic and social factors in assessing regional crop yield gaps: A case study comparing the breadbaskets of France and Russia.” Her project aims to understand the source of the difference between potential and actual crop yields in two diverse regions of the world.

Bryson scholarship awardee, Rachel Licker (second from right), with her advisor Dr. Chris Kucharik (right) and CCR scientists, Dr. Steve Vavrus (left) and Dr. Michael Notaro (second from left)



To illustrate the diversity in research topics of the applicants, some of the topics of the submitted posters are included below.

2015 Bryson Scholarship Event

2014 Bryson Scholarship Event

2013 Bryson Scholarship Event

2012 Bryson Scholarship Event

2011 Bryson Scholarship Event